About the Donald B. McCormick Lecture Series

Donald B McCormickThe annual McCormick Lectureship was created to honor Donald B. McCormick, Ph.D., who was the Chair of the Department of Biochemistry at Emory University School of Medicine from 1979-1994. Dr. McCormick is recognized world-wide for his pioneering work in elucidating the metabolism and function of the water-soluble vitamins, including vitamin B6, riboflavin, biotin, lipoic acid, and ascorbic acid.  He has published over 500 papers and has received numerous awards throughout his career.  Dr. McCormick currently is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Biochemistry at Emory. This lectureship in his name honors outstanding research in biochemistry and molecular biology.  The lectures are open to all Emory faculty, staff, students and the public. Previous Speakers in the McCormick Lecture Series:

Hector DeLuca

2007      Hector F. DeLuca, Ph.D., Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison

Lecture Flyer

Michael R Waterman

2008      Michael R. Waterman, Ph.D., Vanderbilt Univ.

Lecture Flyer

Randy Schekman

2009      Randy Schekman, Ph.D., Univ. of California at Berkeley

Lecture Flyer

Venki Ramakrishnan

2011      Venki Ramakrishnan, Ph.D., MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, United Kingdom.

Lecture Flyer

Roger Y Tsien

2012      Roger Y. Tsien, Ph.D., Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Professor of Pharmacology and of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of California, San Diego

Lecture Flyer